Review | All the Promises We Break by Brenda Benny

0059 - Brenda Benny - All the Promises We Break

Star-Divider51PtM5KoEJL

Title | All the Promises We Break
Author | Brenda Benny
Genre | YA Contemporary
Pages | 250
Series | I hope so!
Publisher | Liddle Book Press
Release Date | October 16th, 2018

How do you move forward from a night that changes everything if you can’t even remember it? 

With high school finally over, and her long-awaited South American adventure just around the corner, Savannah expects to wind up in the arms of her first real love Chase at the end of tonight’s party.

Instead, she wakes up on the bathroom floor.
She knows she wasn’t alone.
Except she can’t remember any of it.

Chase is nowhere to be found. And the only one picking up the pieces is her outrageous and unpredictable best friend, Pete. Amidst the devastating emotional wreckage of sexual assault, Savannah struggles to fit together the jigsaw puzzle of before and after, while shielding the truth from everyone around her.

Will the worst night of her life keep Savannah from her dreams of first love and finding the road less travelled? 

Star-Divider

After reading such a heart-breaking book, it is hard to find the words to accurately describe the way that I feel. Right now, I am a mixture of disgust and anger, sympathy and sadness. My heart feels like it’s breaking. Brenda Benny has brought this truly haunting story into the world. It is a story that needs to be mainstream – that needs to be shared. It is a tale that is all too common among young women, and all too important to ignore. It is earth-shattering and honest and true and painful. Honest. Let’s start there – with the word, honesty.

It has been a very long time since a book has brought me to tears. Maybe I am toughening up, or maybe I no longer see the world the way I used to. Either way, this book made me cry and that’s okay. The book has such a very strong theme of sexual assault which I see too many people trying to discuss in modern society without knowing all the facts. Unfortunately, we live in a world where people are quick to blame the victim. This novel highlights how ‘slut-shaming’ destroys confidence and credibility. We label girls and tell them they cannot do something as it is ‘promiscuous’, or they cannot wear what they want as it ‘invites the wrong kind of attention’. We tell the victim that they deserve it – that they must give an act a name or it didn’t happen. We allow this kind of abuse to go unmentioned because it is easier to ignore than to discuss. We teach girls that they must change, when we should be teaching them that they are not to blame.

Savannah is strong. I have mentioned that a character may have been strong before, but for Savannah to experience what she did, and still manage to copy and act the way she did, she was strong. Do I wish her actions had of been different in the end? Yes. Do I understand that her actions were realistic and portray a large statistic of women who feel unable to talk? Yes. Do I judge Savannah for her actions ultimately? No. I admire her. I admire Brenda Benny. Luckily I have never had to experience anything like this in my life, other than groping when I was around thirteen. To think of the mindset such an experience would have put upon me, and the outcome of Savannah’s actions – it’s astounding how much inner strength she found.

The book was amazing. Perhaps one of the best pieces of fiction I have encountered this year. I wish I had read this sooner. The pacing of the story is quick and fluid, keeping the story relevant ad interesting while portraying two sides of the story at the same time. I needed to find out what was going to happen. I had to keep reading to the end. How many novels have had that effect on me this year? Two.

I would like to congratulate Brenda Benny on the achievement of publishing this book. A relevant story for teen girls to be reading, I would love to see this book circulated in mainstream media. It’s harrowing, it’s relevant and it has to be read. As a result, I will be giving this book five stars. I cannot fault it.

5 stars

Star-Divider

I was provided with a review copy by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my judgement or scoring of the story.

Advertisements

Review | Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

28386799
Title | Not Okay, Cupid
Author | Heidi R. Kling
Genre | YA Contemporary, Romance
Pages | 234 pages
Publisher | Entangled: Crush
Series | None
Release Date | January 11th, 2016

Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart…

Hazel McCallister loves her life. Perfect grades. Perfect best friend. Perfect boyfriend. Until her perfect boyfriend cheats on her with her perfect best friend. Now Hazel’s in free fall—until her best friend’s brother, Felix, gives her the perfect idea. Reclaim her power by taking revenge on her cheating ex.

Felix James loves his life. Casual relationships. Loads of surfing. He’s as drama-free as they come. But he can’t stand by when his sister steals her best friend’s boyfriend, and the dude insists it was Hazel’s fault. So Felix vows to help turn Hazel into a girl her ex can’t resist—so then she can break his heart.

With an alliance in place, Hazel’s revenge is all but assured. But with each piece of payback, she feels a stronger attraction to Felix, even though revenge will turn her into a girl Felix could never be with. And soon Hazel has to make an impossible choice: revenge…or Felix, the boy who’s stolen her heart.

Star-Divider

As an advocate for all things romantic at the moment, this book is perfect for people who don’t want to spend a lot of time reading about love but need their regular fix of it. Heidi R. Kling, perhaps one of my favourite Entangled authors has you covered with another one of her fantastic novels.

“Oh, yes. You know me,” Felix said, but a flash of something crossed his eyes—hurt? No way. Not Felix.

If you regularly read this blog, you’ll notice that for a British girl, I read a lot of American publishing house Entangled books. They’re usually cute and sweet and just what I need to get me out and over a book hangover. Perfect right? Yet I found that Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling managed to hit the spot right where I need it, while the others barely managed to find it. It was fresh and new, though kept inline with all my usual points regarding Entangled books.

“Haven’t you heard? Revenge is the best medicine for heartbreak.”

Felix and Hazel decided to get revenge on Hazel’s ex, who has up and left her for her best friend. It’s an absolute rubbish thing to do, or to have done to you, and I don’t think I’d ever allow a man to treat me as such. But still, Hazel decides to use Felix, her best friends brother to hurt her ex. A little bit silly of you ask me, because revenge is definitely not the best medicine and it will not make you feel better.

Unfortunately, I cannot tell characters this because they are fictional. So of course, my predictions always come true. While I really liked this book, the whole ‘don’t get mad, get even’ plot seemed too infantile for myself. It never works and to even put the idea forward seems a bit ludicrous. Also, as we have seen in many other books (i.e, To All the Boys etc) faking relationships always ends in one party catching feelings for the other.

It is a difficult matter to keep love imprisoned.

The characters are cute and have a little depth, but their depth seems to let the book down a bit. I would describe the as an ‘airy’ read because its light and soppy – something to encounter if you just need a bit of fluff or have a few hours to spare (e.g train journeys). As usual, I read before I go to bed, so reading this soothed me and made me feel quite happy. Felix is a sweetie and Hazel you just want to hug. They do make an adorable couple, even if they aren’t brought together in the most normal way.

I’d advise you all to give this book a try. The cute nature of it made me smile uncontrollably, so I definitely recommend it if you need a pick me up. I have to admit that I am now interested in Heidi’s other works, so stay tuned for more reviews on her work in the near future.

4 stars

Star-Divider

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Thecrazyperfectionist says “Not Okay, Cupid was an entertaining read. The plot was simple and predictable, but done nicely.”

Tasha @ Head in the Clouds, Heart in the Books says “To sum it up, this is is a fluffy, funlight read that will have you laughing, squealing and leave you in a good mood.”

Cris @ My Tiny Obssessions says “This book made me laugh… out loud… in very public places!

Author Talk | Bella Johnson

I’ve been working behind the scenes to talk to few authors, and the lovely Bella Johnson was more than happy to discuss all things bookish with me! I first encountered Bella’s writing on the online writing platform Wattpad. |There she amassed a large following before publishing her most popular works – several of which I absolutely adore.

Image result for bella johnson writer branch and berry

A Word from Bella:

Hey! I’m Bella and I write. 

I’m also a full time Mom, horse-girl + professional photographer… 


I started writing when I was a wee-thing, thirteen years old to be exact, and ironically enough, it’s when I created the series Heart Of Hunters! (though, it is far from  my original creation, it’s still Kara+James at the end of the day!)


I joined Wattpad at the end of 2012 and began to seriously chase my dreams of being a writer of stories after the success of my werewolf series Wolfstate Chronicles!

If you were to get to really know me, you’d quickly realize I’m a little random, a little too bubbly and addicted to the characters in my mind! 
If I don’t write… I don’t get to sleep! 

 Bella xx

branch and berry

So Bella, tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m just a girl who started writing books at the age of nine, but it wasn’t till I was thirteen that I wrote my first novel. I definitely have an overactive imagination and this is sometimes not a great thing, but it does help me plot books fast. I would consider it one of most valuable assets to my writing, aside from crazy nightmares.

When not reading or writing, what do you love doing the most?
I’m a professional photographer by trade, I love it! but my end all-be all passion is horses and all my farm animals! However, I don’t know if I can choose one particular thing I love the most because my life is made up of so much that I love.

What is your favourite book and why?
This is a dangerous question! I’m very picky about books, its dumb, I know. I think I’ll choose the amazing Jane Austen or Anne Rice for authors, Pride and Prejudice is my love and Lestat helps fill all the dark holes in my mind. Let’s not forget Joss Whedon creator of Buffy The Vampire Slayer, he probably shaped me the most as a writer – if I kill a character you love or give them an unhappy ending, it’s because of this author!!

Have you ever based a story on real life experience? Where does your inspiration come from?
When I was young and knew nothing but the walls of my home, sure I did base things off real life experiences – now though, I tend to just get inspiration from life, like there’s a pub and general store that I pass all the time, well it sparked the initial idea for Ranched Up because I began to form a story around this small, middle of nowhere pub surrounded by ranches!

Which character (from your own works) is your favourite and why?
I don’t think any author likes to say who’s their favourite, it’s like saying which kid you love more. I put a lot of time and thought into my leads, however, most that know me well – will probably scream Kara + James Dray. So, that’s my indirect answer.

Did you always want to be a writer?
My problem is, I write because I have to – if I didn’t, I’d probably lose my mind, these characters are their own beings, I’m at their mercy really. Not to sound insane!! I just LOVE writing, where ever it takes me I’ll be happy and am currently smile emoticon

How did you become a writer?
Let’s just blame that over active imagination again, it’s the culprit of my entire life thus far.

You’ve gained a pretty strong following from Wattpad and continuing Wolf Wednesday subscriptions. To what, or whom, do you owe your success? (Anyone to thank or shoutout to?)
Everyone that reads my books, or even tries to read one. I hardly expect the entire world to love me, but hey, even that small effort to read my characters means the undying world!

What’s next on the cards?
At this point, I’m just chugging along at whatever speed I can manage. I would love to release both Maine and Heart of Hunters (#3) this year!! But the goals are endless for my writing, literally.

Would you like to say anything to your fans?
Always just a big thank you for sticking with me and reading all my crazy stories and characters!

branch and berry

And as promised by both Bella and myself, here is a super EXCLUSIVE chapter or Bella’s next book . . .

Heart of Hunters
KINDRED
Book Three

CHAPTER ONE
WIDE AWAKE

            Kara had slept for much of the time she’d been in the hospital; well exhausted both mentally and psychically from the past twenty-four hours. All the while, her daughter napping beside her in a bassinet and white flannels.
Another disturbing dream startled her awake, and she stared across the white room, looking to the couch where Becky was curled in a heap of blankets, her hair wild around her.
The sunshine filtering in made her peg it as late morning but before her eyes could find a clock, the room’s door opened. Millie and Rose were entering on cue, dressed in the season’s best attire.
‘Oh, great.. here we go.’  She rubbed a hand over her face.
             Snapping to life, Becky bounced from the couch to her feet in record time. “H-hi!”
“Hello.” Rose greeted, walking straight to Kara. “And, how are you, my dear?” She put a hand on Kara’s shoulder tenderly, wearing an expression that reminded her of James, that same blatant shock of concern.
Kara winced from the uneasiness she felt in her core.  “Alright, a bit sore.”
“Of course.” Rose leaned gently over the bassinet as Millie joined the older woman at her side. “Oh my, she’s just perfect, Kara.”
Millie’s placid stare at the child made Kara nervous; she didn’t need his aunt’s approval, but she almost wanted it.
“She’s tiny.” Millie’s eyes inspected Emma, touching the baby’s fingertips.
“They-they said she’s healthy.”
“That’s good.” Turning on the tip of her pointed shoes, Millie strode over to Becky.             “Andrew will need you to come home, once he’s out of this shift. It’s wearing him out.”
Becky tensed, her mouth turning into a tight line. “Is he okay?”
“We’re unsure,” Millie said, “He doesn’t seem to want to be mobile. Garrett thinks it’s due to extreme exhaustion.”
Kara wanted to ask about James, but she didn’t have to, she knew her husband was alright.
“Will they clear you to come home soon, Kara?” Millie looked over her charts at the end of the bed like they would make sense to her.
“I think they’ll let us go tomorrow morning.”
“That is great news!” Rose smiled. “Now, the real question, may I hold her?”
“Of course.” Kara produced a meek smile for the older woman.
Rose picked up the newborn in a delicate cradle. “She is lovely!”
Millie gave the child another look. “Yes, precious. I’m going to get a tea; I’ll be back in a few moments.” She walked from the room, and once the door closed, Becky wiped a few trickling tears.
“Are you okay?” Kara asked noticing her crying.
Becky’s nod wasn’t convincing. “I’m just worried about him.”
“I wouldn’t worry,” Rose said, staying focused on the baby in her arms. “Andrew will recover.”
The crease that formed across Becky’s forehead with worry sent Kara’s anxiety into a frenzy. “He’s not used to shifting, Rose.”
Still not understanding all the logistics, Kara did know that James rarely shifted, and it made sense Andrew also fell into that category. “Is it because they’re not allowed?”
“It’s not that, it’s physically draining,” Becky’s shoulders straightened upon the topic. “James is the strongest; this one shift will not lessen his life.”
“It’s best not to get worked up over it, Becky.” Rose’s voice solidified into a tone             Kara had never heard. “Andrew will be all right.”
Kara was sure she saw Becky’s eyes roll as the blonde turned to walk across the room. Then it was silent and tight.
“And her name is Emma?” Rose asked with a smile on her face again.
Kara nodded. “James liked it.”
“It suits her.” The old woman agreed. “He’ll be proud of her. She’s lovely.”
Kara took a deep breath, trying to suppress the feeling inside her that happened when he was the subject. “Thank you for coming.”
“Oh, yes, I was dying to see her.” Rose cooed at the sleeping newborn. The rest of visit continued with ogling over her baby and less about supernatural bloodshed.

             Becky stayed with Kara under Millie’s request but as the evening pressed on, the petite blonde begun to grow increasingly agitated. Her teeth grinding, hair twirling and pacing, left Kara with one conclusion; Becky wanted out of the hospital.
“God, I hate this.”
“I’m sorry, Becky, for being the one to cause all this.”
“I don’t blame you.”
It made Kara question who she blamed. Was it her husband? Garrett? That super power Coven?
The baby in her arms grew heavy with sleep as the moments between Kara and Becky passed with an eerie ambiance.
“She’s sleeping again.”
“Such a dozer.” Becky forced a content smile. “I can put her in the bassinet for you?”
“Yeah, not a bad idea, I need to go the bathroom.” Kara let Becky take the baby and put her down. As she scooted off the side of the bed, she slipped her cold feet into a pair of high-end sheepskin boots. Kara wasn’t sure who had bought them for her, but they were doing the trick in the cool room.
Her slow shuffle across the floor exhibited her sore and cramping body. Once in the bathroom, she washed her face and noticed her tattered hair. She cringed; it was awful, greasy and sweated out. Her face wasn’t better with it’s pale and pasty appearance, not very wife like of a professional soccer player.
That thought in her head alone bugged her; she knew what she needed to look like, what she was expected to look like, even if she had just popped out his baby.
Deciding to shower, she stepped into a refreshing warm water that didn’t calm her climbing nerves as she’d hoped. After fifteen minutes she shut the water off and listened to it drip and hit the tile at her feet. Everything seemed so different, and she couldn’t understand why. It beat her down with tears, and though she tried to stop them by distracting herself and leaving the shower, it didn’t help. She cried for longer than she meant to and when her last tear streaked her cheek, she saw the clothes Becky had come in and left for her during the shower.
She snatched up the new yoga pants and pink shirt, both stretchy items of clothing were a tiny size small. The pants just barely fit over her rounded hips and the shirt no better.
Dressed, she walked out feeling uncomfortable.
Becky smiled. “Real clothing.”
“They hardly fit.” Kara pulled at the hem of the shirt, not looking up so Becky wouldn’t notice her puffy face.
“They look good.”
“You’re too nice.” She sat on the bed, knowing her stomach wasn’t as attractive after carrying around a child, and she draped her arm over it. “Dumb cramps, though.”
“You’re almost due for more pain meds soon. Lie down; I’ll find that nurse.” Becky left her, and Kara took the suggestion to lie down, closing her eyes in relief.

            “Hi.”
“That took forever.” James turned to Becky as she walked up behind them in the main reception.
Becky wrinkled her nose. “Shouldn’t you be in a better mood?”
“Don’t mind him.” Garrett was next to face her. “How are you, Becky?”
She shrugged a shoulder. “How’s Drew?”
“He’s tired,” Garrett explained. “We figured it best if I get you.”
The blonde agreed. “I have everything I need so–”
“I’m going up. Which room then?” James cut in, not caring to hear the dribble about his cousin.
“Two twenty-nine. Level three. Kara’s asleep,” Becky told him, “And so is the baby.”
The information relieved him; he’d been in a panic the entire way there, with Kara asleep, it gave him more time to think. “See you later.”
Garrett took his shoulder before he could step away. “When Kara is released, I’ll send the Bentley.”
“Mm.” James nodded and walked away with a quick step toward the elevator. The doors opened, and he jabbed the third button down with his index finger. They rolled shut, enclosing him inside alone. He wrung his fingers to the collar of his shirt, undoing the top button from the discomfort of the stiff fabric.
Finally, he stepped out into the quiet and deserted hall with one lone nurse walking in and out of rooms. Proceeding down the lobby, he found the room and stopped, with his nervous hand not quite reaching the knob. “Please don’t let her hate me.”
Inside the room, the sight of his curled up, sleeping wife greeted him first. The door quietly swung shut behind him as the sound of breathing; his, hers and one more, etched the room.
He looked to the bassinet. His first two steps were slow, but the rest were quick. In those slow seconds, his dark eyes locked on his daughter.
“Bloody hell.” He ran a hand through his hair and gripped it, tugging as Emma moved her head, her hand balling at her cheek and making her pout.
He winced, pulling her tiny fist away from her face in aid.
Her squinted blue eyes shown up at him, muting his nervousness with heartache.
“Jesus, you’re just perfect.” He ran his other hand quickly over his watering eyes.
As the moments passed Emma’s bottom lip pouted, and she let out a soft cry.
“Shh.” He took his sizeable palms and brought them to the baby, lifting her out of the bassinet. He fumbled, trying to get her cradled in the crook of his arm and not knowing if he was going about it correctly.
Her tiny cries silenced as he tried his best to soothe her.
“I’m sorry I wasn’t here, little one.”
She responded to him by nodding off and it made him smile. He had seconds alone with her before the shuffling of blankets revealed a waking Kara. His wife did her usual rub of her cheek on the pillow, opening her eyes slowly till she focused on what was in front of her.
Startled by his presence, she sat up as fast as she could. “James.”
“She’s lovely.” He put his fingertips on Emma’s tiny brow, brushing them along her soft little cheek.
“H-how long have you been here?” She bit her lip, and it made him stare at her.
“Not long.” His voice softened as he looked back to the baby. She was no longer the only one in love with the newborn; that was evident.
He didn’t take his eyes off his daughter. “Well, I…”
Kara lifted an eyebrow from his lack of speech. James Dray stunned – what a novelty.
“That’s about right.”
Her cheeks went red, perhaps from speaking through their linked minds. However, it filled him with a sense of pride. Maybe she would accept them for what they were now.
Emma stirred, yawning and squinting her blue eyes open. She looked up at him for a few moments then dozed back off. His heart pounded one solid thump, and he swore it skipped the next two.
James put the baby on his shoulder and nuzzled her. “I love her.”
Kara tried to hold the emotion in, but she failed, running her fingers beneath her bagged eyes. “I do too.”
“Thank you, Kara. She’s beautiful.”
She brushed her tears away, nodding like she had no words for him.
James rubbed Emma’s back, his hands completely covering their six-pound child and Kara appeared mesmerized by it.
He walked to her, sitting down on the bed and lingering with a kiss to her cheek. He remembered how that used to make him feel and how it just seemed different all of a sudden.
She created a space between them that made his worries more prominent. “I’m glad you’re alright.”
He paused. “Yes, I’m okay, and I hope you’re alright too.” His breath petered against her face because he refused to move any further back. “You’re a brave woman.”
“No.”
“You are.” He dropped his mouth to Emma’s shoulder as he straightened away from Kara. “She’s perfect.”
“Where’s Becky?” Her words caught him off guard.
“Garrett’s taken her back to Blackwell.” He stood up, sensing she wanted space, even if it broke him to do so.
“Why?”
He got annoyed with the conversation. They should have been kissing and making up, not making small talk over Andrew and his fiance. “Drew needs her.”
She nodded, looking across the room at nothing in particular.
“Are you alright, love?” He asked, no longer able to comprehend her mood. Their child stirred on his shoulder, and that caught her particular attention.
“I’m just exhausted.” She lied her head back on the pillows with a sigh.
The baby let out a small cry, and he tried to soothe her not quite accomplishing the goal.
“Let me take her.”
He rubbed the newborn’s back and readjusted her. “She’s fine.”
Her eyes burned into him like they did when she was cross. “Can I just have her?”
“Let me hold her, please.”
She gave up and sunk back into the bed, he gave her credit, because it looked to have taken all her control.
“I get to go home tomorrow morning.”
“That’s good. I hate hospitals. The less I’m here, the better for everyone involved.”
Her eyes moved over him with suspicion. “Why do you hate them?”
He grumbled as he paced slowly across the room, but he felt her watching him, waiting for him to say something more.
“I find hospitals.. depressing.” He finally concluded. “It will be nice to go home.”
“I guess.” She breathed. ‘Safe.’
He glanced at her. “That’s a word you’re starting not to like, isn’t it?”
She didn’t reply, and he let it go because he was sure she knew he wouldn’t deviate from his version of control or sufferance. He was now in his full mastery of regulation and her, and their child would be his first precedence. For unclear reasons to him, their conversation appeared to bring on her anxiety instead of lessening it.

branch and berry

 

Free Book | Getting Out of Hand by Erin Nicholas

Hello once again to all the people who once found the time and effort to read my humble little blog. It’s been a very loooooong time since we last discussed books, and I want you to know that it wasn’t you – it was me. No seriously, my health has not been the best. he bad news is that I have had no motivation for anything.

But the good news? I’m back.

And I have a ton of books to talk to you all about.

Now I’m going to ease myself back in, because I’m still recovering and I’m still a student, in perhaps the most important year of my studies. However, I miss you all so much that I want to make a return to this.

branch and berry

And I bring even better news for all you romance fans out there . . .

Getting Out of Hand by Erin Nicholas is FREE for a limited (and I mean limited) time!

“Heroines I love and heroes I still shamelessly want to steal.  Erin Nicholas romances are fantasy fodder.”- Violet Duke, New York Times bestselling author.


Title | Getting Out of Hand
Author | Erin Nicholas
Genre | Contemporary, Romance, Chick-Lit
Pages | 278 pages
Publisher | N/A
Series | Sapphire Falls, #1
Release Date | 2014

Genius scientist Mason Riley can cure world hunger, impress the media and piss off the Vice President of the United States all before breakfast. But he’s not sure he can get through his high school class reunion. 

Then he meets the new girl in town. 

Adrianne Scott loves Sapphire Falls. The sleepy little town has been the perfect place to escape her fast-paced, high stress lifestyle. Her only plans now include opening her candy shop and living a quiet, drama-free life. 

Until Mason Riley bids four hundred dollars just to dance with her. 

Mason sure doesn’t look—or kiss—like a genius scientist geek. In fact, he makes Adrianne’s heart pound like nothing she’s ever experienced. Passion like this with a guy who travels the world and parties at the White House should probably be a red flag for a girl who wants a simple boring life. 

Good thing no one falls in love in a weekend. 

branch and berry

Now I haven’t read this particular book myself, but since it’s free, I thought I’d recommend you all to give it a download and see if it fits your reading style. I will be reading this (as I have downloaded myself) and will be posting review within the next few weeks I hope.

While the majority of the links posted below are to US websites, the Amazon.co.uk also has the book for £0.00 so I advise you to try it and see if it’s available where you are.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EjvXRf
AppleBooks: https://apple.co/2CIa8ZZ
Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/GettingOutofHand
Nook: http://bit.ly/2EghvJM
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2CfBN3t
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2OZpXRV

branch and berry

Keeping it short and sweet, I will be signing off now.

Make sure to follow the page and hit up social media linked on the side to keep up with my life and reading habits.

Lots of love x

Review | You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon

30339479

Title | You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone
Author | Rachel Lynn Solomon
Genre | YA Contemporary
Pages | 304 pages
Publisher | Simon Pulse
Series | None
Release Date | January 2nd, 2018

Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common besides their ambitious nature. Viola prodigy Adina yearns to become a soloist—and to convince her music teacher he wants her the way she wants him. Overachiever Tovah awaits her acceptance to Johns Hopkins, the first step on her path toward med school and a career as a surgeon. 

But one thing could wreck their carefully planned futures: a genetic test for Huntington’s, a rare degenerative disease that slowly steals control of the body and mind. It’s turned their Israeli mother into a near stranger and fractured the sisters’ own bond in ways they’ll never admit. While Tovah finds comfort in their Jewish religion, Adina rebels against its rules.

When the results come in, one twin tests negative for Huntington’s. The other tests positive.

These opposite outcomes push them farther apart as they wrestle with guilt, betrayal, and the unexpected thrill of first love. How can they repair their relationship, and is it even worth saving?

branch and berry

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone is a relevant, compelling tale of two twins who fail to get along, and their struggles with adolescent lives and the looming possibility of one being cut short. This original piece of work tells the tale of Adina and Tovah; twin sisters who haven’t been close for years. Their journey to self-discovery and sisterhood is moving as well as devastating – leaving me hooked and wanting more long after the story was finished.

The book chapters alternate between the two protagonists, Adina and Tovah, point of views, starting and ending with Adina. There is a fluid motion of pacing through the novel, with each part of the story being relevant to the destruction of one twin’s life and the slow-building up of another. It is interesting to see how the opposing beliefs of each girl motivates their behaviour and personality; helping to move the story along and prevent it from becoming tedious to read. With each page I turned in the story, I was hooked. I had to continue to the next part. All in all, I’d say the story took me around three hours to read; bearing in mind I am a fast reader. There was no need for me to discard the book for a rest at any point – it compelled me to read it.

Adina is quite a crazy character. At first, she comes across as shy and introverted – the stereotypical music player who walks around with her head in the clouds. Envied by her sister Tovah for the attention she receives from guys, it’s very clear from the get-go that Adina only has eyes for her music teacher – who only has the intention of sleeping with Adina. It’s quite sad to watch Adina become sucked into the wormhole she creates for herself, allowing everything to consume her. In the end, she has quite a destructive personality, and this is no way helps her with her relationship with Tovah. However, given the circumstances, her behaviour seems almost justified – almost.

Tovah, on the other hand, seems the more sensible out of the twins. She is your typical over-achiever, with her mind set on attending the best college she possibility can and her focus firmly set on her friends and extra-curricular activities. It’s kind of sad that her history with her sister is so bad, and that this has fractured their friendship. A large portion of the book, Tovah thinks that Adina ‘owes’ Tovah for something she did years ago. While this may seem justified to the character, I felt it was rather petty to dwell on it and to allow it tear the sisterhood apart.

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone addresses several serious issues that are becoming increasingly important in todays modern society. The first being health. It is no secret that the book is based around the incurable degenerate disease of Huntington’s. Their mother, Ima, suffers with it and it can be quite emotional to watch their mother deteriorate throughout the novel. You feel like you’re there with the twins, feeling every accident of missed word and it clenches your heart. I appreciate that this book is working wonders to raise the word about Huntington’s Disease. I, for one, have never heard of it before and would not have thought it to be so serious post-reading the story. Solomon has done a fabulous job in highlighting the destructive of the disease, and need to focus more energy into searching for a cure.

The second important issue discussed by the book is mental health. It becomes apparent that Adina is suffering through depression as the book unfolds – her behaviour becomes unpredictable, her thoughts are scattered and she reverts to some pretty crazy tactics in the final chapters of the book. While it isn’t made a massive thing of until the very end, it’sstill incredibly positive to see this in young adult literature. We should be educating the young that this is not a bad thing to go through – and that the stigma attached to depression is not just. I have depression and have had it for around two years now. I only found out two months ago. So to see this reinforcing in literature is the step forward that I have been waiting for.

Another issue touched upon is that of relationships. Adina’s sexuality is quite clearly flaunted in the book, with her loving her virginity at fourteen to a boy who was eighteen/nineteen. As a consequence, we see Adina attempt to use her sexuality as a weapon against men, who only ever seem to use her. It’s quite a dangerous game to play, and a rocky issue to address in a book – as there is actually little that tells Adina that sexuality is not a weapon. It is Tovah that is the voice of reason in that sense, but I would have liked there to have been a bit more of a control on the extent to which Adina tried to control her sexual energy.

Religion is also quite an important aspect of the book. It was surprising to me, to see a book that focussed around the Jewish religion – simply because I have never come across a young adult story that does so. It was mildly refreshing. Yet it was important, as we see one twin continue with her faith, and another lose it completely. It is interesting to see how this ends up between the girls, and the justification behind both their reasonings.

Other issues touched upon in the book is that of blackmail and stalking – although minor to the novel as a whole, they are still present. In no way do I condone the use of blackmail or stalking, and the actions of the individual only work to prove how desperate the situation becomes.

If I were to say that I didn’t enjoy this story, then I would be lying. It was hard not to. As a debut novel, I am very pleased with the writing of Rachel Lynn Solomon and hope to see her next work on the shelves. Scoring this book is quite easy – I am giving it a four out of five. While I have no critique for the author, I am not overwhelmed by the story. However, I am still pleased that I read this book.

4 stars

Review | Copycat by Hannah Jayne

36691530

Title | Copycat
Author | Hannah Jayne
Genre | YA Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller
Pages | 288 pages
Publisher | Sourcebooks FIRE
Release Date | July 3rd, 2018

Everyone is dying to read the latest book in the popular Gap Lake mystery series, and Addison is no exception. As the novels biggest fan, Addison is flattered when the infamously reclusive author, R.J. Rosen, contacts her, granting her inside information others would kill for. 

But when the most popular girl in Addison’s high school is murdered, Addison can’t help but think that life may be imitating fiction. And as other terrifying events from the book start happening around her, Addison has to figure out how to write her own ending -and survive the story.

branch and berry

I have two words for anyone even considering this book – MUST READ! I’m a simple girl. I love mysteries. I love Hannah Jayne. And Copycat is possibly some of the best of Jayne’s work, if that is even possible. When this book became available, I just knew that I was going to love it. Anyone who wants a thrilling read will adore this story.

Addison is the book nerd that we all are. She’s obsessed with the murder mystery series of Gap Lake and will defend the books until the end of the Earth. It was interesting to see how she still continues the mysteries despite the strange similarities to the things happening around her. Perhaps what is more thrilling than Addison, is the true killers personality and their ability to hide behind their facade for so long. I loved how the murder was not who I expected – something that I find all too easy to predict in modern young adult fiction.

Not once did I find this book boring. From the minute I opened the book and finished it, I was wanting more. I still want more, even though the book is a standalone novel. The sheer thrill of the book and the excellently fluid writing style from Jayne will have this being a book I remember for a while. As I adore this genre, I always run the risk of falling into similar story plots where the ending just become too easy to foresee.

I love Hannah Jayne’s writing, and I am more than stoked to see what she produced next. For now, I think I’ll be revisiting some of her older classics in anticipation for the next one.

5 stars

Blog Tour | Everything Under the Sun by Jessica Redmerski

 

55 - Everything Under the Sun by Jessica Redmerski
Title | Everything Under the Sun
Author | Jessica Redsmerski
Genre | NA Science Fiction, Romance
Pages | 656 pages
Publisher | Amazon Digital Services
Series | None
Release Date | June 5th, 2018

Thais Fenwick was eleven-years-old when civilization fell, devastated by a virus that killed off the majority of the world’s population. For seven years, Thais and her family lived in a community of survivors deep in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains. But when her town is attacked by raiders, she and her blind sister are taken away to the East-Central Territory where she is destined to live the cruel and unjust kind of life her late mother warned her about. 

Atticus Hunt is a troubled soldier in Lexington City who has spent the past seven years trying to conform to the vicious nature of men in a post-apocalyptic society. He knows that in order to survive, he must abandon his morals and his conscience and become like those he is surrounded by. But when he meets Thais, morals and conscience win out over conformity, and he risks his rank and his life to help her. They escape the city and set out together on a long and perilous journey to find safety in Shreveport, Louisiana. 

Struggling to survive in a world without electricity, food, shelter, and clean water, Atticus and Thais shed their fear of growing too close, and they fall hopelessly in love. But can love survive in such dark times, or is it fated to die with them? 

branch and berry

When it comes to describing Everything Under the Sun, words seem to evade me. This post-apocalyptic romantic hit has taken the YA blogging world by storm, sending out a plethora of high four and five star ratings across the blogosphere. And after reading the book for myself, it wasn’t hard to understand why. It’s bloody brilliant.

“You may be the only good thing left in this world, and I’ll be goddamned if I let your light fade.”

Thais and Atticus are polar opposites, but two halves of a whole. Their romance is mighty, powerful and epic – but ultimately, they are star-crossed lovers. He is a soldier and she is running. Atticus is not a safe man – he’s just not a very good person really. He’s bad, haunted, dangerous and yet you can’t help but want him to be with the gentle Thais. Thais is also definitely my favourite strong female heroine of 2018 – her brave and strength is admirable.

I looked into the eyes of the woman I know I would die for one day, and my heart, as it always was when I looked at her and only her, was bursting.

The book was a very long read, taking me a lot longer to finish than usual. Yet, unlike some of the other books I’ve encountered with a long and slow story plot, I didn’t get the urge to smash my Kindle while reading this. The slow pace is needed, it’s necessary because it is an epic love story. You simply do not want to put the damn book down. I love when books are like this, because that’s how you know you’ve made the right decision.

“You’re like an angel,” Atticus whispered, his gaze sweeping my face. “You’re my angel.” He dipped his head and kissed my lips.

It was fair to say that the idea of a post-apocolyptic romance had me on the rocks a little bit. I’m not a dystopian fiction person – and you’ll know that if you read my posts regularly. But this is that happy balance between unbearable and fantastic. It was a genre I did not expect to enjoy this summer – and dare I say it has opened my eyes to other books surrounding the genre. However, I’ll have to hold out for a sequel to this as the premise is something I have not yet come across in young adult fiction.

“I’ve chosen you every step of the way, in every breath, with every bit of my broken heart and broken soul, and I choose you now, and tomorrow, and every day after it!”

I’m incredibly excited for the next instalment after that terribly cruel cliffhanger. I think I’ll be watching my Goodreads and social media avidly to await anymore news. As for you guys, I’d encourage you to give this a try – it’s completely different to what I have read. Therefore, I dare you all to be adventurous and give this five-star romance a try this summer.

5 stars

branch and berry

 

everything2bunder2bthe2bsun

Tour Stops

Savings in Seconds | Peaceful Oblivion | Bookhounds | Two Chicks on Books | Vylithylia Reads

A Dream Within A Dream | paseandoamisscultura | Simply Daniel Radcliffe | Rainy Day Reviews | Perspective of a Writer

Fall Into Books | Infinite Lives, Infinite Stories | Hauntedbybooks | Literary Chaos | BITTERSWEET ENCHANTMENT

Dani Reviews Things | Sincerely Karen Jo | Book-Keeping | Ziggy’s Reading Corner | The Desert Bibliophile

branch and berry


Meet Jessica

J.A. (Jessica) Redmerski is a New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, international bestseller, and award winner, who juggles several different genres. She began self-publishing in 2012, and later with the success of THE EDGE OF NEVER, signed on with Grand Central Publishing/Forever Romance. Her works have been translated into more than twenty languages.

Jessica is a hybrid author who, in addition to working with a traditional publisher, also continues to self-publish. Her popular crime and suspense series, In the Company of Killers, has been optioned for television and film by actor and model William Levy.

Website | Twitter | Amazon Author Page | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

Review | Sing by Vivi Greene

54 - Sing by Vivi Greene

Title | Sing
Author | Vivi Greene
Genre | YA Contemporary Romance
Pages | 279 pages
Publisher | HarperCollins
Series | None
Release Date | May 31st, 2016

America’s most famous pop star flees the spotlight to recover from her latest break-up in Maine—only to fall for a local boy and be faced with an impossible choice at the end of the summer: her new guy, or her music.

Multiplatinum pop icon Lily Ross’s biggest hits and biggest heartbreaks (because they are one and the same):

1. AGONY. (That feeling when her ex ripped her heart out of her chest and she never saw it coming.)
2. GHOSTS. (Because even famous people are ghosted by guys sometimes. And it sucks just as much.)
3. ONCE BITTEN. (As in: twice shy. Also, she’s never dating an actor or a musician ever again.)

But this summer’s going to be different. After getting her heart shattered, Lily is taking herself out of the spotlight and heading to a small island in middle-of-nowhere Maine with her closest friends. She has three months until her fall tour starts-three months to focus on herself, her music, her new album. Anything but guys.

That is . . . until Lily meets sweet, down-to-earth local Noel Bradley, who is so different from anyone she’s ever dated. Suddenly, Lily’s “summer of me” takes an unexpected turn, and she finds herself falling deeper and harder than ever before. But Noel isn’t interested in the limelight. She loves Noel-but she loves her fans, too. And come August, she may be forced to choose.

branch and berry

Music, summer and a romance that will sweep you off your feet – Sing is the perfect summer read for this hot days in the sun.

A book which has been heavily emphasized for the past month or so is Sing by Vivi Greene. Curiosity struck back in May when I was offered the chance to read an exclusive six-chapter sniper of the book. Oh my little lovelies, I was impressed. Instantly I added the book to my Goodreads list and heavily anticipated the chance to read the novel fully. While I received that offer and gratefully accepted it, I had to push the actual reading onto the back burner for personal reasons – or at least, until today.

Lily, the main protagonist of the story is a superstar singer who constantly finds her heart being broken. Her description, current lifestyle and appearance on the cover of the book constantly makes me think of Taylor Swift and the agro that she has to deal with. As a proud Swiftie, I feel she is so easily judged due to media portrayal and ex’s opinions. That was something that made me click with this particular story. I’m not a sensation, a singer or pretty and famous. Heck, I’m not even a size 8 at the minute, but I couldn’t help but feel compelled to read Lily’s story. Sure it helps that I’m a sucker for romance, and a helpless romantic at heart but you know – that’s life.

The book doesn’t move too fast or too slow, maintaining what I can only describe as a perfect pace throughout. It was refreshing to find a book where the ending hadn’t been rushed, and the whole story plot for Sing had very obviously been planned out well. Of not, then you have some serious skills Ms Greene! Sing wasn’t a very complex book either. While it was quite long to read, not considering that I had it spaced out over several weeks, I found it easy to keep up with. Heck, I hadn’t read the book for a month and I was still able to identify the ups and downs to the point I had paused. Now it is a special book that can do that, especially when I had been reading other stories in between.

As for the cover, I feel like the minimalist movement of a girl with blonde hair and red lips suits the book perfectly. It screams popstar but at the same time doesn’t make you assume that she is spoilt or stuck up – a trait I was glad to see scrapped. Sing lived up to my expectations, so I gladly award it a 5 out of 5 snowflakes. Well done, Vivi Greene.

5 starsbranch and berry
Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Yana @ The Quidnunc says “Sing by Vivi Greene: was exactly what I expected, in a good way, I think…”

Kathy @ A Glass of Wine says “Sing offers a sweet look at a summer romance

Review | A Son of Carver by Haven Francis

53 - A Son of Carver by Haven Francis Header

Title | A Son of Carver
Author | Haven Francis
Genre | YA Contemporary Romance
Pages | 546 pages
Publisher | CreateSpace Independant Publishing Inc
Series | Carver High, #2
Release Date | May 17th, 2016

Sometimes the best version of yourself is the one you can only see through someone else’s eyes. But what happens when those eyes belong to the one person you don’t want them to?

Thanks to her father’s affair and her parent’s resulting separation, Presley Knox has been ripped from her life in California and dropped into an abyss in the middle of Georgia. With her alternative looks and creative spirit, trying to find her place in a sea of jocks and cheerleaders is hard, but doing it while living with her cousin who belittles her every chance she gets is almost impossible. There is one person in Carver who embodies everything Presley hates about her new life and she can’t help but use him as the outlet for all of her frustrations.

Nash Carter’s bad boy image isn’t a façade; he drinks too much, sleeps around, makes his money street racing and has zero plans for his future beyond living a rowdy life with his likeminded dad and older brother. His good looks, cut body and popularity have always gotten him anything and anyone he’s ever wanted. That is until Presley Knox showed up at Carver High.

Nash knows to steer clear of Presley and her sharp tongue that’s always aimed at him. But that becomes impossible when they’re paired together for a semester-long photography assignment that promises to push them into the depths of each other’s personal lives. In order to survive the semester, Nash implements a new strategy: get the one girl who’s immune to his charm to change her mind about him.

With Nash’s unwavering pursuit to know everything about her, and with the nagging voice inside her head that’s insisting there’s more to him than she’s letting herself see, Presley struggles to keep her wall firmly in place. When it slowly begins to crumble, Nash wonders if he should have kept his distance after all because the girl that’s been hiding under Presley’s hard shell is breaking his heart wide open.

Nash has been a lot of things to a lot of girls, but Presley’s the only one he’s ever wanted to shelter and protect. But how is he going to do that when he knows she’s right to keep their friendship a secret in order to protect herself from him?

branch and berry

Romantic, cute and a perfect romance summer hit, A Son of Carver is the standalone novel that every girl needs to possess.

I’m realizing just how deep our deceit runs.

From the minute I opened A Son of Carver, I rolled my eyes and instantly discarded it as the Entangled: Crush book that didn’t make it. I judged the book, and that makes me feel so incredibly foolish – especially considering how fabulous the book actually was. My biggest love for this book was the depth. The writer took her time to develop a history, a plot, the characters and their personality and literally everything else in the story. There has been so much effort put into the story which pays off incredibly well. As I was reading the story, I was able to recall details of pasts which were referred to. I like this – I like being able to stand with a novel and evaluate where it’s going and where its been, who’s been what and who has yet to appear.

“I’m here Nash. I’m not gonna go,” she reassures me. Which is great. But she’s talking about tonight and I can’t stop thinking about forever.

The characters, including the secondary and flimsy characters, all had an incredible likability to them – well, with the exception of one. I liked how each character had a specific role in making the novel amazing. Obviously my favourite characters were the two protagonists, Nash and Presley. Something I adored was the originality of the names. It reminds me of the naming in The Hunger Games, because the more unusual the name, the more the book will stand out. Nash is honestly such a sweetheart. I want to wrap him up in cotton wool and bubble wrap and squeeze his little cheeks. Like any young adult, bad boys have a profound effect on me. They’re sexy, they’re naughty and inside beats the heart of a nice guy.

Nash was definitely a character I loved, and probably one of the best male protagonists I have ever encountered. When the story is told from his perspective, it is both believable and honest. Presley is that bad ass chick with the insecurities that force her to hide herself away. It’s terrible being made to feel inferior your life, and dealing with the divorce if your parents is only going to amplify the issues. But Presley had an inner strength I admired and aspired to have. That makes her a winning character in my eyes.

“How the hell did I get you to fall in love with me?” I wonder out loud. “It’s like some sort of miracle.”

“Slow and steady. And then… all at once. I fell down a hole I didn’t even see coming.”

While the book was actually the second in a series, it can standalone. It is a brilliant move because I now want to go back and read the first one. A Son of Carver was a bloody brilliant novel, and one that I want to own a physical copy of. I’m definitely about to go and check Amazon. And you should too.

4 stars

branch and berry

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Emalie @ Book Gatherer says “Overall I liked reading A Son Of Carver.”

Blog Tour | The Controversial Princess by Jodi Ellen Malpas

52 - The Controversial Princess Cover
Title | The Controversial Princess
Author | Jodi Ellen Malpas
Genre | Adult Contemporary Romance
Pages | 400 pages
Publisher | Self-Published
Series | Smoke & Mirrors, #1
Release Date | May 22nd, 2018

Her father is The King of England. She is The Controversial Princess. 

Regarded as down to earth by the press and rebellious by The King, Princess Adeline refuses to bow to the royal expectations her title carries. She knows better than anyone that the united front of the royal family is nothing but smoke and mirrors – lies and secrets masked by power and privilege. She wants no part of it, and she will never surrender to The King’s demand to marry a man she does not love. But despite Adeline’s determination to retain her free will, she remains deeply unfulfilled, feeling caged and suffocated. 

That is until she meets Josh Jameson. Drawn in by his confidence, Adeline is soon captivated by the scandalously sexy American actor. His ability to penetrate her defences overwhelms her – his touch is pure fire, and his allure overpowering. Nothing has ever made her feel so alive in a world where she’s otherwise slowly drowning. However, while Josh may be Hollywood royalty, he’s not actual royalty, and Adeline knows The King and his advisors will do everything in their power to keep them apart. 

But Josh Jameson becomes the princess’s ultimate vice. And although she bows to no one, she bows to him.

branch and berry

I am a massive fan on royal families, and living in England only makes me more excited for this book! Especially following the Royal Wedding last weekend, between Meghan Markle and Prince Harry.

I’m hoping to get my hands on a physical copy of this story tomorrow, when payday hits and I suddenly have money for like a day. But you guys who are fortunate enough can already go buy the book now! I’ve heard nothing but good reviews about this, so go give a check out and let me know in the comments whether you want to read this or not!

You can buy the book here:
Amazon (UK) | Amazon (US) | Amazon (CA) | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

branch and berry

Here is a fabulous excerpt from the book for all those still on the edge about buying it!

Leaning over, he kisses the tip of my nose. “Now, food’s on the way. We’ll have a carpet picnic, what do ya say?”

“I’ve never had a carpet picnic before.”

“Say what?” He looks horrified. “Never?”

My shoulders jump up on a little shrug. “It’s all fine dining, posh china, and solid silver cutlery at a table that’s so shiny you can see your face in it.”

“Then tonight we fix that.” He pulls me up and walks us through to the lounge. “Get all the cushions on the floor.” He pulls a throw off the back of a chair and wafts it into the air while I pull all the cushions from the couch. I watch as Josh gets on his hands and knees and starts pulling at the corners of the blanket, straightening it out and placing cushions.

I have a permanent smile on my face, fascinated by his deep concentration. “You are doing a tremendously good job,” I say, clearing my face of my smile when his motions falter and he looks up at me. One of his eyes narrows, and in a lightning move, he snatches my wrist and yanks me down to the floor. I cry in surprise, being rolled to my back until I’m once again pinned against something by his body. Not that I’m complaining. Would never dream of it. I blow a tickling hair from my nose and grin at him. 

“You’re making fun of me.” He dips and bites the end of my nose. 

“Not at all.” I chuckle, squirming beneath him while he makes a meal of my face. 

“Too good for a carpet picnic, are you? You want a throne?”

“Definitely not,” I blurt. “Unless your face will be my throne.”

Josh pulls back speedily on a little choke, his eyes bulging. I press my lips together as he stares at me in shock, like how could such a vulgar thing have fallen from the lips of a princess? “I think I just fell in love with you.”

It’s my turn to choke. “Blimey, you fall easily, don’t you?”

“Actually, I don’t fall at all.”

“No?”

He shakes his head. “Baby, I’ll be your throne any day of the week.”

“Honored.”

“It is me who’s honored. It’s not every day a real-life princess tells you she wants to sit on your face.”

Laughter erupts from deep within me, my eyes clenching shut, my head thrown back. My position and lack of control gives Josh the perfect opportunity to ravish my throat. And he does, growling dramatically, squirming above me…rubbing me. 

branch and berry

(c) Kerry Ann Duffy Photography

About the wonderful Jodi:


Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable
of. She was shocked herself.

But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012.

She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR,  released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

You can now connect with Jodi on almost any platform!
Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Website